Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My First Memory of Music

Monday

Waxing moon in Sagittarius > Capricorn � 9:01 a.m.
14th day of lunar cycle
Full Moon

�Anger is the firestorm that signals the death of our old life . . . Anger is not the action itself. It is action�s invitation.�
-- Julia Cameron, �The Artist�s Way�

My First Memory of Music

My first memory of music is of my mother singing to me at bedtime. I don�t remember the songs but I loved the music. I don�t remember any others singing to me.

My favorite music memory is of visiting Aunt Lish in Tonganoxie, Kansas for the summer. I don�t remember which summer but it was before I became a teenager. Aunt Lish had been told by her older sister not to sing out loud because she didn�t sing very well. So, she didn�t sing. One time, we went for a car ride out through the country roads and we began to sing and sing at the top of our lungs we did. What a good time we had. I thought she sang very well indeed.

I don�t think I sing very well. I have a hard time carrying a tune. I need to have an instrument playing or be sitting/standing next to someone who does sing and then I�m okay. I have been known to sing in my car, by myself and the obvious � the shower.

I love music.

I like some better than others. I love country western. Rap, errrr, well, maybe for a few short minutes. Classical music is a wonderful way to spend a rainy afternoon. Rock and roll, well I know how old I am because I know all the words! Reggae is a favorite as well as Latin. Celtic is my heritage and I love it all.

The first albums I remember listening to were 78�s of Bing Crosby�s �An Irish Lullaby;� Burl Ives, �A Little Bitty Tear;� and Judy Garland�s, �Somewhere Over the Rainbow.� There might have been a few Nat King Cole songs but it�s been so long ago and 78�s, well, they�re a collector�s item now.

My first 45 single was Chubby Checker�s �The Twist.� My dad built me a 45 player from a project kit in Popular Science. I loved that little player. It wasn�t pink with a handle but a solid wood frame that was not meant to be carried around. After that came the Beach Boys, the Beatles and Petula Clark. I remember singing �I Wanna Hold Your Hand� so many times, my mother said she would remove mine if I sang it anymore. There was also �I�m Henry The Eighth� by Herman and the Hermits another favorite of mine from the English invasion. By this time, I was living in Florida.

With a move back to Maine, I must have been between 14-15 and I saw an ad for one of the record companies to purchase albums through them. What sold me was the stereo player they offered in addition to a number of albums. Hot dog, I was in heaven! Mother about had a coronary but she didn�t say no, just that I had to be responsible for the payments. Typical parent-speak, as I�m sure we all remember.

Michael sings to me now. He is a very good singer and I love listening to him. There are times he will call me up at work and sing me a song because he had been thinking about me. Or, he will e-mail the words to a song we like and I can hear the tune in my head and be smiling for the rest of the day.

Music has always been important to me. It gets me pepped up, calms me down when it�s stressful and puts me to sleep at night.

What is your first memory of music?

8:21 p.m. - 2002-06-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com