Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just Another Friday

Friday
Waning half moon in Taurus
25th day of lunar cycle

�Slow down and enjoy life. It�s not only the scenery you miss by going to fast � you also miss the sense of where you are going and why.�
-- Eddie Cantor

Just Another Friday

In staying up past 11 p.m. last night, it was hard to get up this morning. Today feels like a really long day. Here it is going on 10, how do I do this?

I do this because I have much to do and would like to get it all done in one day. Yes, I know I�m insane!

Yesterday was a grand day off. I did some spiritual work, a little house cleaning, time spent with Michael, a barbecue to die for and then watching the fireworks from the next town over. Luckily the fog didn�t come in or this would not have happened.

Today�s focus is on Comparison versus Simplicity.

I believe simplicity goes out the window when we begin to compare.

When we compare our house to that of our neighbor�s. Our house suddenly seems lacking.

We compare our clothes to that of the model in a magazine. Next morning, we find we hate everything in our closet.

We compare ourselves to what the media says we should look like. A look in the mirror and with disgust in our eyes, we know we don�t measure up.

Our minds either shut down or they get busy. How can we make our house better, drive a fancier car, afford the right clothes and finally have the body that resembles the model on the cover of Vogue magazine?

Where do you see simplicity in all of this?

I don�t. Simplicity is one of the things I have requested for years now. It always seems lurking just around the corner. I get to the corner and it�s moved onto the next one. What kind of life is this?

Every day I choose simplicity but somewhere, life steps in and simplicity flees or so I think. That is the problem for me, I begin to react instead of act. The choices I make bring the chaos and the stinking thinking. I begin to compare and pretty soon I hate my life and wish I were someone and someplace else.

Today I choose simplicity because it helps me to slow down, as Eddie Cantor advises in the quote. I slow down and I notice the colors of the sunrise, I hear the doves waking to begin another day. I see smiles on people�s faces. My house is beautiful because I live in it. My clothes are comfortable and if I�m comfortable I�m happy. And though I may be a bit pudgy, Michael loves me anyway. Simplicity brings me happiness with the way things are.

I wish you all the simplicity you need.

++++++

And, once again, it�s the Friday Five:

1. Where are you right now? Sitting at my computer in my sanctuary typing this entry, answering e-mail and listening to the television in the other room. My house is located on the Central Coast of California in the US of A.

2. What have you lost recently? My father died in March and we buried him in May. In some ways I don�t feel like he�s gone. We were close but with living on opposite ends of the country we were very rarely face to face.

3. What was the first CD you ever purchased? Does that embarrass you now? The soundtrack to �Don Juan DeMarco.� Not at all, I love listening to Bryan Adams singing �Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman.�

4. What is your favorite kind of writing pen? My favorites are fountain pens but I do like writing with the jellies. And every now and then, I like using a number two pencil.

5. What is your favorite ice cream flavor? Anything with chocolate and peanut butter. Haagan Daas, coffee; anything with toffee in it.

11:39 p.m. - 2002-07-05
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com