Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remembering the Farm � Part 2

Monday
Waxing moon in Capricorn

"The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances: if there is any reaction, both are transformed."
-- C. G. Jung

Remembering the Farm � Part 2

As we drive through the agricultural area this morning, farmers and workers are all ready about. Some are checking the sprinkler systems; someone is driving a tractor tilling the soil. There are fields ready for planting and others looking ready for harvesting. What crossed my mind about my Aunt Edith's and Uncle Walter's farm was the fact they fed their workers. A light breakfast, a huge lunch and a light dinner. Now a days, I see farm hands bringing their own lunches. I do hope they get more pay.

When I lived in Maine, there were dairy farms, hog farms, sheep farms and agriculture farms. One of my relatives, Aunt Edna and Uncle Pat, had a farm. I remember them having pigs (under the barn), cows and I think a horse or two. Plus, they always grew a garden. In fact, most everyone I can remember had some kind of a garden even if they didn't have a farm.

At Aunt Edna's and Uncle Pat's farm, we were always assured to homemade donuts on Sunday mornings, mincemeat pies during deer hunting season, raspberries and real cream and lots of fresh vegetables. My favorite foods were the donuts and raspberries.

My least favorite memory was the time when my cousin Lucien attempted to push me through the barn floor to the pigs below. Do you believe when I say, Lucien was my favorite cousin? He was, even though he teased me a lot. Luckily for me being tall, strong and scared, I acted like a spider as I held onto the floor of the barn.

To life on a farm, I still remember Aunt Edna and Uncle Pat.

3:33 p.m. - 2002-07-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com