Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Busy Day

Saturday
Waning moon in Pisces
17th day of lunar cycle

"Give yourself permission to be a beginner."
-- Julia Cameron, "The Artist's Way"

A Busy Day

I have to comment on the quote this morning.

It's uncomfortable to be the beginner - even to give myself permission to do so. I'm of an age you don't associate with being the beginner.

I'm a beginner when it comes to my on-line journal. I'm a beginner to what to write and how to do it.

Being a beginner means I begin. Again and again. With practice I learn the skills I need. I find a comfort from the daily writing. One day, I don't know when, I'll think:

When did I move past the beginning?

Okay then,

It's going to be a busy day and to start I over slept. This is good and not good. I had planned to attend a Buddhism seminar from 9 a.m. to noon. That didn't happen when I woke up between 9 and 9:30 a.m. Oh well.

But the rest of my day is going to be made up of:

* Meditating
* Spending time with Michael
* Working on the garage to get it into order
* Lifting weights
* Working on Ruby and getting her ready for the road
* Dishes
* Laundry
* Paying bills
* Changing sheets
* Watching movies
* Napping
* Working in the back yard
* Ironing shirts for work
* Grocery shopping
* Reading
* Reading e-mail and responding
* Hopefully writing a letter to a friend who doesn't have e-mail

Egads, this is my entire weekend!

To end this missive, here is my late Friday Five:

1. How long have you had a weblog?

A. I don't have weblog, I have an on-line journal. I've been doing it since June 8 of this year.

2. What was your first post about?

A. Getting started in writing an on-line journal.

3. How many changes (name, location, etc.) of your weblog have there been, if more than one?

A. I've had more than one over the years and unfortunately I can't remember the names of them.

4. What CMS (content management system) do you use? Do you like it or do you want to try something else?

A. I have not used a CMS. I'm not even sure what it is used for.

5. Do you read people who have both a journal and a weblog? Or do you prefer to read people who have all of their writing in one central place?

A. I would say, at the moment, everyone I read has all of their writing in one place. I know of a couple of people who keep weblogs but I haven't felt compelled to check them out.

Have a grand day everyone.

11:35 a.m. - 2002-07-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com