Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Birth, Life, Death and Rebirth

Wednesday - August 14, 2002

Waxing Moon in Scorpio

6th day of lunar cycle

"Spending time in solitude with your artist child is essential to self-nurturing."

-- Julia Cameron, "The Artist's Way"

Birth, Life, Death and Rebirth

Self-nurturing. Mighty powerful words containing the elements of constructive as well as destructive. Which do you choose on a daily basis? There was a time in my life when the destructive was what I thought nurturing was. Now that I'm older, I know better.

Self-nurturing also takes the form of honoring the rituals of life. One of those rituals is participating in funerals. Most of you, I'm sure, have attended a few and know what I mean. Today I went to one for a co-worker's spouse. Why is it the good one's go so early and the evil people live to ripe old ages?

I was fine during this service until the color guard performed their duties. With very few words spoken, a ritual of action, my heart melted and I felt the loss of the family. In my spiritual tradition, we view death as part of the cycle of life, it is normal. And yet, it grabs us like no other ritual can.

I'm not sure what else to say here so I shall stop. Hug your loved ones and tell them how much they mean to you.

8:27 p.m. - 2002-08-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com