Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tales from the Bus � Part 1

Wednesday
Waxing Moon in Aquarius
13th day of lunar cycle

"It is in the knowledge of the genuine conditions of our lives that we must draw our strength to live and our reasons for living."
-- Simone de Beauvoir

Tales from the Bus � Part 1

Some entries back I wrote about riding the bus since my car's demise and I liked the experience to Christmas morning - you knew you were going to get presents but what?

Today's experience was noteworthy both riding to and from work.

Miss Kathy, the pre-school teacher, was late and we had to hurry to the bus stop. Just enough time to get our money or punch pass out and the bus arrived. Today she is carrying a plastic grocery sack of books and later I learn her lunch and a light blue quilted purse. Chattering away non-stop about this and that.

The small runabout bus doesn�t allow individual seating and Miss Kathy and I share a seat. She�s on the inside and I�m on the aisle side. The adventure begins with her books seeking to emerge from her bag. I say something to her about it and she begins to organize her books only to find out the books have squished her peach. I believe we have all done this at one time or another in our lives and know the outcome, right?

Miss Kathy commences to remove the books but cannot hold them all in one hand while looking for the said peach. I offer to hold the books being careful not to get peach juice and goo all over my things or me.

�Ah ha,� she says and withdraws the peach, one end questionably smooshed.

�That I will not hold,� says I wrinkling me nose. I do have my limits you know.

Miss K looks at the peach and I can tell she�s wondering what to do with it. I ask her about having another bag � no she doesn�t. Among the things that fell to the floor were pads for that time of month, I made the suggestion of unwrapping one and using the plastic to wrap the peach but my idea wasn�t acted upon.

More pondering on the peach and though she isn�t hungry, Miss K eats her peach. Now she has juice and goo all over her hands. She states she needs a towel. I don�t have a towel but I do have Kleenexes but I cannot get to them due to the books in my lap. Miss K offers up her lap and the books are redistributed and I find the kleenex. What she really needed was a wet wipe for the hands. I told her I had wipes for the other end but not the hands and that suggestion was taken either but we had a good laugh over it.

Now we are at her stop. Trying to put Miss K back together again is a scene for the comedy TV. Her books are everywhere, she needs to put her jacket back on, and she�s big enough to block the whole aisle so no one else can get through. Does it get any better than this I ask you? I get her back to the seats so the other folks can leave and before the last one disembarks, Miss K discovers she has dropped her paycheck and bends over with her rump in the aisle retrieving her check thus stopping the last passenger from leaving.

Whew! I�m tired. As I�m the last one on the bus I sit back and enjoy the silence until my stop. Robert bids me to have a good day as he closes the door behind and drives off for the day.

With this I shall stop here and make it a two-parter. Read tomorrow for the end of this comedy.

5:57 p.m. - 2002-08-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com