Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Learning Means

Sunday - August 25, 2002
Waning Moon in Pisces > Aries � 3:47 a.m.
17th day of lunar cycle

"A mind too active is no mind at all."
-- Theodore Roethke

Learning Means

Learning means studying my abc�s. Yick. Why do I need to learn abc�s? My mom says with abc�s in combination they make words but why do I need words?

A is for apple
B is for ball
C is for cat

Okay, so now I can say apple, ball and cat. Why do I want to spell them? Mom says someday I may be a great writer and it�s important to know how to spell. Why spell when I can tell stories?

I like to tell stories.

I like to tell stories about my cat. He chases the grass I tease him with. He purrs when I pet him and rub him behind his ears. He rubs my legs when I come home from school. Sometimes he even leaves dead mice, moles and birds on the doorway mat, looking at me like �look what I did for you.� I like my cat.

Apples are the best. We have tree in our back yard. They�re small green apples and sour. Mom says I mustn�t eat too many or they will make me sick. I still eat them though. The worst is when I find a worm in one and I�ve bitten through it. Yucky. Sometimes when the apples turn red, mom will make an apple pie. I like her apple pies. Dad, when he knows there�s apple pie for dessert, he will bring home vanilla ice cream. My teacher says this is apple pie ala mode. Me, it�s apple pie and ice cream.

I don�t like talking about balls. I�m not good at playing ball. I always get sent out to the outfield. Nothing happens out there. I end up sitting in the grass and watching the ants and any other bug I find. Once in awhile a ball will be hit out to me but by the time I realize it�s coming I�m too late. I don�t know why my parents think I need to play ball. I like to take a tennis ball and bounce it on the driveway and catch it. I like to throw it against the barn door and catch it but I don'� care about baseball.

What I really like to do is go adventuring. I find all kinds of neat things. Grasshoppers. Frogs and sometimes toads. My auntie told me I could get warts with holding toads and grasshoppers leave tobacco juice on my hand when I hold them. I don�t think it�s really tobacco juice but it�s brown like the juice my grampy spits out.

So that�s my stories for today. ABC.

Emmy Lynn
First Grade

11:42 a.m. - 2002-08-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com