Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How Happy Can One Person Be?

Friday

Waxing moon in Pisces

15th day of lunar cycle

. . . that thou art happy, thou owest to God; that thou continuest such, thou owest to thyself.

- John Milton, �Paradise Lost�

How Happy Can One Person Be?

I have moments of being happy. But lately my happy plate has been a bit bare. I believe it�s hard to be happy when your dearest companion, in my case, Capt. Fuzzbutt, has failing kidneys and Michael and I have to give him water transfusions nightly.

It�s hard to be happy when I worry about getting all of this accident stuff together and wonder whether I�m doing it right and will they pay me what�s fair. Fair enough to purchase a vehicle and pay my medical bills.

It�s hard to be happy when the news reports almost daily that another child has been kidnapped, killed or abused in some manner.

It�s hard to be happy with war brewing and innocent people are being killed.

How can I continue to be happy with all of this?

Is being happy the answer to right the chaos in this world? All of these things I�ve listed here have a hurt. I know there are other�s whose hurts are much worse than mine are, can they be happy?

Being happy may be that challenge our Higher Power gives to us to see if we can rise to the occasion. Being happy is one of those ripple effects. One smile to a person you don�t know may make their day. One good day or how are you to a co-worker, family member or a friend can be the one thing they needed most at that moment.

Can you do it? Inspite of the destruction and chaos in the world, can you look around you and smile and realize you live in paradise and have all that you need?

What made me smile today:

Waking up with my sweetie sleeping beside me.

Having time to myself

Having time to meditate and do my yoga

Driving the Magickal Blue truck with the windows down and not be cold

Having a project to do at work and going beyond the call of the duty and being thanked for it.

Going to lunch with friends

Foggy mornings

Sunny afternoons

Hearing Spike/Capt. Fuzzbutt purr when he sits in my lap

Having good neighbors

Sharing the evening with my sweetie

Hey, it�s Friday and payday!

Having e-mail friends

But I have to ask, who is John Milton and has anyone read �Paradise Lost?� Another book to add to the must read list.

10:31 p.m. - 2002-09-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com