Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sing A Song

"Listen to the passion of your soul, set the wings of your spirit free; and let not a single song go unsung."

~ Sylvana Rossetti ~

Sing A Song

I used to sing in school. I remember singing �Puff the Magic Dragon,� �Blowin� In The Wind,� �Moon River,� �God Bless America� and all the other songs they teach you in school. When I entered high school, I was in the school choir and as I remember I was in the soprano section. I must have sung well enough as mother would have me and my sister come and sing to her AA group. I really hated this part. The people were too close. I liked having space between me and them. I also liked singing in church. I was really amazed how many pop songs were lyrics from the Bible or gospel songs. Music is music I guess.

At some point, I stopped singing or my voice went. I don�t know the exact date, time or who was involved but I couldn�t carry a tune any longer. This was even for songs I knew. I mean the biggest one; everyone knows it � �Happy Birthday.� Now how poor is that? A grown woman cannot sing �Happy Birthday.� I do okay if I�m standing or sitting next to someone who can carry a tune. If not, I just mouth the words and leave it at that.

What�s bad about this situation is I like to sing. You drive me while I�m driving in my car and you can tell I�m singing to the radio or a CD. I also sing in the shower. Well, not when Michael�s sleeping now that he�s working nights but a tune is going along in my head.

The latest tune is the new one and I can�t even remember the name of the group who does it but the one line I remember is this:

�Save a horse, ride a cowboy.�

Makes sense to me but, exactly in what context are they singing about?

Then during the Academy of Country Music Awards show I heard the song by Brad Paisley and Alison Krauss singing �Whiskey Lullaby.� It�s enough to bring tears to your eyes.

Singing I�ve been told comes straight from your heart and I believe it. I can�t live without music. What about you?

mz. em

10:16 p.m. - Friday, May. 28, 2004
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com