Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Unconscious Mutterings

�Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.�
!! Stephen King, novelist !!

))))))000000((((((

I say ... and you think ... ?

1. Judge:: Court
2. Detroit:: Motor City
3. Hyphen:: Break
4. Get it right:: Perfectionist
5. Pulsating:: Alive
6. Yoga:: Flexible
7. Memorable:: A daring adventure
8. Financial advisor:: Money conscious
9. Ten million:: Butterflies
10. I:: Me

))))))000000((((((

Let�s Have an Auction � Day Two for me

Yesterday�s paper had a story in it about a wife auctioning a day spent with her 96-year-old husband. The opening bid was $19.99 and is now up to $122.50. To check it out go here:

A Priceless Date

))))))000000((((((

There�s Some Shaking Going On . . .

Although the glass in the sliders in the upstairs� office shook yesterday and I thought it was an earthquake, it wasn�t. I check the United States Geological site and no mention of an earthquake in our area. It must have been a truck or something going down our street. Well, that�s just fine with me.

))))))000000((((((

Golf Widow

A topic Golf Widow writes about today was when we were younger and the fun of being chosen for a team sports. Where did you fit in? Were you picked first? Personally, I hated sports. I hoped I wasn�t picked at all but you know that�s not a choice. For baseball, I was usually in the outfield. Most kids couldn�t hit a ball that far so I was fairly safe and could play in the grass and daydream while the rest of the team was doing whatever they were doing.

I did try out for basketball. Alas, I was not coordinated enough to dribble, pass and get a basket. One needs to have all these skills for this team sport and soon I dropped out. I have a feeling my team mates heaved a sigh of relief on that one. I never did try out for track. I have a feeling I might have been a good runner but track didn�t interest me either.

I do remember playing indoor volley ball and was fairly good at that but I don�t remember where I placed on when teams were chosen. I have a feeling the coach just placed us on a team and that was that. I did try out with friends to play volley ball on the beach. Now, these folks were serious players and I didn�t fit in here either. I mean, it�s just a game right? On top of that, I hurt my back and I was much better at sitting on the sidelines and cheering the teams on than out on the court.

So, how did I feel about not being picked or being picked last or being grudgingly picked at all? I felt probably like the team captain did with an intrepid outlook and where to put me to do the least amount of damage to the team. I can�t say that this experience hampered my emotional or mental growth for future years.

I like solitary endeavors as in lifting weights, walking the treadmill, walking in general by myself and yoga.

But, I do like to go to sports events, I just don�t want to play in them.

))))))000000((((((


Happy Valentine�s Day

"On Valentine's Day, millions of men give millions of women flowers, cards and candy as a heartfelt expression of the emotion that also
motivates men to observe anniversaries and birthdays: fear."
= Dave Barry

1) Do you celebrate Valentine�s Day with your significant other? No, we celebrate our anniversary, Feb. 15.

2) What is the best Valentine�s Day gift you have ever received? Time spent with my loved one.

3) Describe your best Valentine date. The best anniversary date, was spent with Michael and going to dinner at our favorite restaurant.

4) Did you pass out Valentines to your classmates as a child? We did that but that was like the sports thing; one, you wouldn�t get one; or two, it would be from some boy you thought was icky.

5) What is your favorite Valentine d�cor? (hearts, cupids, etcetera) I just like the color red.

))))))000000((((((

Okay, gang I�m calling it quits here. I have a book that�s calling my name. It wants to be finished and I am to please it.

mz. em

))))))000000((((((

What I�m Reading:

�A Wizard of Earthsea� by Ursula K. Le Guin � Okay, I�m into this book now. Stuff is going on and I hope (X � fingers crossed) I�ll finish this today. The funny thing though, as I�m reading I don�t recall a thing being familiar after having seen the made-for-TV movie. Very strange.

�Fall on Your Knees� by Ann-Marie MacDonald � Getting down to the last hundred pages. It�s still a great book although dark in subject but MacDonald can write a story that keeps you interested.

++++++

Since I am a Barnes & Noble affiliate, any books you purchase through the link here gives me credit. So, if you feel so moved I would be appreciative.


“Best

~~~~~~

11:21 a.m. - Sunday, Feb. 13, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com