Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gloomy Monday

Monday
Waxing moon in Virgo > Libra � 4:39 a.m.
5th day of lunar cycle

"Do not let your self-doubt turn into self-sabotage."
--Julia Cameron, "The Artist's Way"

Gloomy Monday

I'm not crazy about days beginning in the gloom. I knew it was gloomy before I got up this morning because it was still dark in the bedroom. Other than nighttime, when the bedroom is dark there is fog. Plus, it's gloomy in town as well. The leaves hang heavy with the weight of the dew, moving sluggishly as the wind dances between them.

Michael had to go into work early this morning and this means I ride the bus in. This isn't a bad thing, I like riding the bus; but, I haven't been on it in awhile and I didn�t find my bus pass right away or my magazine. A new bag with different compartments will throw anyone off. On top of it, I realized I had left my cell phone at home and the computer is still on. Ah geesh, it's a good thing my head is attached.

One thing nice about living where I do; the gloomy days usually turn bright and sunny. Just back from my walk and it is beautiful out with just a bit of breeze. The usual sightings of flowers, trucks and cars and airplanes landing or taking off from the airport were here on this Monday morning. Today, I noticed all the gopher holes. There were over 30 holes along this one stretch. I wonder whether or not the sidewalk could buckle with the tunneling underneath them? I've not seen the little critters but the holes are evidence they are there.

News Today: Through a 10-step process Girl Scouts may now earn the Stress Less badge. More than 60,000 Junior Girl Scouts have earned this badge since its inception last fall. The girls, ages 8 to 11, create a personal stress less kit with items to help them in relaxing like a book, music, photographs, writing in a journal and listening to music and research on how to reduce stress. Check out www.girlscouts.org.

What surprises me about this list is what isn't mentioned. Like doing nothing, meditation, deep breathing and calling your grandparents.

In our society where kids are encouraged to be busy, teaching them how to do nothing would be great. Even I would sign up for that class. When I do nothing I also feel guilty. I mean, look at my list, there is always something to be done. I want to learn how to do nothing and be guilt free. That would definitely create a stress-free environment.

When you're older meditation is a key word. Well, maybe you had to have grown up in the hippie era. Even though I've sat in meditation more times than I have toes and fingers, I'm still not sure I'm doing it right.

Then there's deep breathing. No one ever teaches the right way to breathe. Everyone I've met from yoga people to physical therapist all talk about breathing from your diaphragm. Number one, do kids even know where this is? Thanks to yoga I'm much better at this type of breathing and I do have to say I feel much better after doing it whether I'm walking or doing yoga. I don't know about you but it seems left to my own devices I always resort to shallow breathing, will I ever get over this? Maybe this isn�t a stressless activity.

What about calling grandparents? Mine didn't live that close nor does my Granddad today. I find when I've called him up and heard about his garden, how things are growing and whether or not the deer or rabbits have helped themselves, I hang up feeling much better with making that connection.

No, I didn't get badges for learning how to be stress free; I earned badges for sewing, doing something for my community and a sash full of badges for learning how to be an all-round girl. I guess what I'm getting at is this is teaching the girls to look towards outside stuff to calm them down, as opposed to looking within to be calm. I don't know, maybe I'm just an old fuddy duddy.

Well, gang it's getting late and I need my beauty sleep.

9:26 p.m. - 2002-07-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com