Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who You Calling An Artist?

Thursday
Waning half moon in Taurus
22th day of lunar cycle

"Remember, it takes nurturing to make an artist."
-- Julia Cameron, "The Artist�s Way"

Who You Calling An Artist?

My motto for the longest of time - most of my life, until the last decade - was "I�m not creative or artistic."

Yes, I said this for many years because someone said to me over one of my artistic endeavors that it wasn't good enough. That was enough to make me quit trying. If you can't do it right/good/best the first time don't even begin.

Now, I attempt my hand at most anything. What got me started was Michael gifting me with a box of Crayola crayons � the 96 color box* � THE BIG ONE!

Whoo hoo! I colored to my hearts content by creating my own pictures. Next project was creating collages in my journal. Fun stuff let me tell you. I've also dabbled in watercolors, scavenging the beach for rocks, shells, driftwood, feathers and anything else that can be combined with the others, and of course, writing.

I've written pretty much every day for the last ten years. Some of it creative and some not but the words are there. Then I found on-line journaling and a whole new world has opened up for me. Not only in meeting others who like to journal but in learning how to do it myself.

Do I consider myself an artist or being a creative person now? You betcha!

TODAY'S SPORTS NEWS

In today's sport's news is the highlight of the first dunk in Women's National Basketball Association games. Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks, is 6'5", made the first dunk in professional women's basketball during the game between the Sparks and Miami Sol on Tuesday's game at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. The article went on to say that women hadn't been dunking because of lack of emphasis on the skill to do so. Lisa now joins the rank of five other women who have dunked in women�s college basketball games:

Georgeann Wells, West Virginia - Dec. 21, 1984
Charlotte Smith, North Carolina - 1994
Michelle Snow, Tennessee - three times during her career

Best quote of this article: "Boys have a tendency to jump around a lot more than girls." Lisa Leslie.

Okay, so it's a slow day when I write about sports events. What can I say?

++++++++++++

* In going to the Binney & Smith Co. site, there are now 120 colors in the largest box.

4:28 p.m. - 2002-08-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com