Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday's Adventure

Sunday
Waning Moon in Gemini
25th day of lunar cycle

"Nothing has a stronger influence psychologically on their environment and especially on their children than the unlived life of the parent."
-- C. G. Jung

Sunday's Adventure

This seems to be the weekend for things to happen. Today's adventure was in the kitchen.

For those of you who have been reading for awhile may have picked up that I am the chief bottle washer and house cleaner, Michael is the chief cook. There's a good reason for this.

Today I had the idea notion of doing a bit of cooking. The new Weight Watchers cookbook had come in on Friday and I wanted to try it out. Tonight's dinner was to be cajun swordfish steaks with skillet zuccini and crusty french bread. Sounds pretty good doesn't it?

I chop, measure and get all of my ingredients ready and the light goes green, I'm ready to cook. Tonight I will be broiling the swordfish. I ask Michael about broiling in an electric oven (I'm a gas girl you know). I though the cookie sheet would work but Michael thought the baking dish would be better so the baking dish it is.

Get, set go . . . the fish is dreged with the spices and into the oven. It all smells pretty good too. At the appropriate time, I pull the steaks out to turn them over and - - - - K A B O O M!!!!!

The dish exploded.

I think I may have screamed. This scared the you know what out of me as I stand there seeing broken glass and fish sitting in my oven. With the bang, Michael came running (in bare feet) and immediately cut his foot. All I could do was stand there in a daze. Slowly, between the two of us we began cleaning up the fish and glass shards.

Oh man! That fish wasn't cheap either. Plus all my other food was out on the counter waiting to be prepared. Not knowing where the glass had gone, we decided it was best to scrap the whole dinner. Michael, the darling, ordered up pizza from our favorite joint and we had pizza instead of swordfish. I did get to make the raspberry parfaits though and they were good.

After tonight, I will relinquish the kitchen back to Michael and keep to washing dishes.

8:00 p.m. - 2002-08-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com