Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Love of Vinyl

Tuesday - August 20, 2002
Waxing Moon in Capricorn > Aquarius - 6:16 a.m.
12th day of lunar cycle

"Like an ability or a muscle, hearing your inner wisdom is strengthened by doing it."
-- Robbie Gass

The Love of Vinyl

After having set up my stereo system, my turn table is operational and now I get to listen to my beloved albums. I've collected the majority of these from the days when I worked for WHB radio station, top 40 music in Kansas City, Missouri. Johnny Dolan was still the top of the DJ list, of whom my uncle used to listen to when he was a kid, and I learned that DJ's weren't as good looking as they sounded on the air.

So my record collection began there with the record label reps coming in and handing out demos. One of the side benefits was going to the concerts as well. My second avenue of album collecting was working in a record store. This store was located in an Afro-American neighborhood and my worldly ways grew with the kids teaching this ol white girl how to dance. However, it never took - darn. The store also received tons of demo albums and when the album wasn't on the top ten any longer the managers would give them out.

My collection goes from A with Abba to W with Paul Williams. I've got Willy Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, Neil Diamond, Bruce Springsteen, John Denver, Bach, Chopin, Joan Baez, Rita Coolege, Woody and Arlo Guthrie, Z Z Hill and of course Barry White and these are just the ones I remember!

Now days, my music is either on tape or CD. Definitely easier to transport but there's nothing like listening to the vinyl.

4:28 p.m. - 2002-08-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com