Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Political Ranting

Thursday - August 29, 2002
Waning Moon in Taurus
21th day of lunar cycle

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters, compared to what lies within us."
-- Ralph Waldo Emerson

Political Ranting

NOTE: The following are my opinions on the political front. I'm not attempting to offend anyone by what I feel or have said here. It's just my take on the situation.

What bugs me about politics these days is the finger pointing. You know the ads of one politician pointing the finger at the opponent, telling us what he did wrong or what he didn't do and not to vote for him.

What gets me, is the other three fingers pointing back at the pointer. What has he done or not done? Makes me not want to vote for either of the them. Plus, here it is the end of August and for two or more weeks now these ads have been on the television. Can you imagine what it's going to be like as it gets closer to the November elections? I mute the ad, turn the channel or shut the TV off.

The another thing that puts my pants in a bunch is how much money the top two parties raise to be voted into office. To me it seems they buy their way into office instead of being voted in.

My solution, the top two can only spend as much money as the candidate with the least amount of money to spend. I don't know if would make it a fair election or not but it might make it a more level playing field among everyone running for office.

The last thing bugging me is here in California the state can't set a budget. I haven't had a chance to read the articles in full, just the headlines, but it's been nine weeks now. This delay is affecting many organizations that depend on state money; organizations who help the elderly, disabled, kids and low income families.

My solution to this one is have all the career politicians be paid minimum wage as us average folks and put the remaining money back into the budget. Wouldn't that be enough money to get things going again? How many of those senators and congress people would want to stay career politicians if they were making minimum wage? Would we have a better representation of all people with people from all factions of life instead of those who could buy their way in?

8:57 a.m. - 2002-08-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com