Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Ring Gods Strike Not Once But Twice

Wednesday

Waxing moon in Aquarius > Pisces - 10:18 p.m.

13th day of lunar cycle

Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off of the goal.

-- Henry Ford, 1863-1947, Founder of Ford Motor Company

The Ring Gods Strike Not Once But Twice

You may wonder where I have been the last few days and not writing regularly. To answer your questions and I know you are asking, but my life has been taken over with stress and worry about putting together the settlement package for my personal injury claim from my accident in January.

I thought I had put all the receipts in one place, I didn't. This meant tracking down copies. Making phone calls to get updated billing statements, I'm still waiting for return calls. Drafting of a settlement letter, I've read it to Michael and a rewrite is in order. However, the most stressful was not being able to contact the adjuster of the insurance company of the person who hit me.

One phone number had been disconnected, a second phone number with one of those automated answering machine told me it would be 40 minutes before my call would be answered, definitely not acceptable when you're calling long distance, two different addresses, a web site with e-mail capabilities but only to get an error message. Need I say more of why I am stressed. I did find a different e-mail address and began spamming them. Low and behold yesterday, I received a phone call from a different adjuster than the one I began with. Now I have a direct line to this adjuster and a current address. Now if I can get the updated receipts I can get them copied and out of my house. Let the negotiations begin!

Then come the Ring Gods. Monday, I arrived at work and realized I had lost the thumb ring I wear on my right hand. I searched everywhere, had Michael check out the truck and went through everything at home and no ring.

On Tuesday, I took one of the two rings I wear on my left thumb and placed the one on the right thumb. I arrived at work and found the left thumb ring was now gone. Another search and another missing ring. What is up with this I ask? If anyone finds my ring I will take you out to lunch!

The other stressful news is I had taken Spike to the vet's on Saturday because he had been scratching at his left ear and shaking his head, like he did earlier in the summer. Ear mites! I was not about to let them make him that uncomfortable again. The weigh-in showed he'd lost another pound and he was dehydrated. Being a senior cat, his kidneys aren't working to their optium best. The vet, a new guy who's there on Saturdays. Did I say he was cute? Blue eyes and blond hair and definitely better animal and people skills than the other vet. Spike the poor dear gets ear mite (oral) medicine for the next three weeks. On top of that, he gets subcutaneous water hydration. This is so much fun for Michael and me. I'm not sure who has it the worst: Michael who gets to do the skin piercing, me who watches and keeps Spike still or Spike who gets pierced and hydrated. So far we've all survived and can make it until his next visit in a week and a half.

On a lighter note, I visited my favorite columnist, Jon Carroll at the SF Chronicle. The man can write about anything and make it interesting and no subject is off limits. Today's focus on bathroom etiquette in the men's room is a good example: An Odd Occurrence at the Porcelain Palace

Highlights of today:

1970 - Jimi Hendrix, 27, died in London.

1975 - Patty Hearst was captured by the FBI in San Francisco, 19 months after being kidnapped by the SLA

2002 - Patrick Ewing, 40, retires from basketball

On that note, I'm going to stop now and get on with other things. Ta ta.

3:50 p.m. - 2002-09-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com