Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No Sunshine Today



Sunshine is taking a break today and even the house is cold. This afternoon, I finally had to put on my Uggs to warm up my feet.

I slept in until 9:30-ish a.m. and got up to meditate and do my 30-minutes on the treadmill. Once I get that done, I'm at a loss of what to do with myself. Of course, I thought about getting into some of the housework I wanted to do but by then it was time for Michael to get up and I wanted to spend time with him.

Housework can wait until after he leaves for work.

However, after he left for work, I took an hour nap and then I was ready to get busy with just a bit of an anxiety attack. Actually, I began to feel anxious prior to his leaving and took my medication and had some lunch that seemed to help but I still felt weird.

But the nap helped and I got the dining room floor washed. Max wasn�t too crazy about the vacuum cleaner but he supervised most of the work to make sure I got all the dirt and grime up. No, no, my floor wasn't that dirty just dusty.

I also cleaned up the kitchen, did two loads of wash, got the dishwasher going and changed the sheets. Okay then, I feel that's enough of being busy.

I do believe that it's time to watch a movie. I�m not sure which one will come up so you will have to read up tomorrow to find out what I watched.

I was reading "The Writers Almanac" and they had this poem and I can so relate to it.

Poem: "Tin Ear," by Peter Schmitt, from Country Airport. (Copper Beech Press).

Tin Ear

We stood at attention as she moved
with a kind of Groucho shuffle
down our line, her trained music
teacher's ear passing by
our ten- and eleven-year-old mouths
open to some song now forgotten.
And as she held her momentary
pause in front of me, I peered
from the corner of my eye
to hers, and knew the truth
I had suspected.
In the following days,
as certain of our peers
disappeared at appointed hours
for the Chorus, something in me
was already closing shop.
Indeed, to this day
I still clam up
for the national anthem
in crowded stadiums, draw
disapproving alumni stares
as I smile the length of school songs,
and even hum and clap
through "Happy Birthday," creating
a diversion�all lest I send
the collective pitch
careening headlong into dissonance.
It's only in the choice acoustics
of shower and sealed car
that I can finally give voice
to that heart deep within me
that is pure, tonally perfect, music.
But when the water stops running
and the radio's off, I can remember
that day in class,
when I knew for the first time
that mine would be a world of words
without melody, where refrain
means do not join,
where I'm ready to sing
in a key no one has ever heard.

mz. em

))))))))))))))))0(((((((((((((((

Quote of the Day

Think of all the other writers out there in the world,
taking the same detour from word processor to coffeepot,
thesaurus in hand, hopes in tow. We're all in it together,
crossing over and over the elusive bridge between words and literature.
--Abby Frucht

++++++

Blessings Today:

Michael and Max
Another morning to sleep in sleep in
Finished the "Jurassic Park III" movie
Another day with my two boys
Yesterday�s fab dinner by Mr. Michael of king crab legs, salad and baked potato. Yum

++++++

Currently Reading: "Lord of Chaos - Book Six of The Wheel of Time" series by Robert Jordan

"the Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know" by David J. Miklowitz, PhD.

"Dr. Atkins� New Diet Revolution� by Robert C. Atkins, M.D.

++++++

Last night's movie: The last "Jurassic Park" movie followed by "Fargo" and the beginning of "The Matrix" and then I fell asleep. I will have to watch "Matrix" tonight.

++++++

Currently listening to: Local radio.

((((((000000))))))

When I'm not listening to a CD or the radio, I listen to Pandora.com. You can create your own music stations and rate the songs you hear. I�ve enjoyed a lot because I have a good selection and get to hear the moldy oldies.

++++++



9:33 p.m. - Monday, Aug. 28, 2006
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com