Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In the Beginning Was the Word

"I�m delighted that the future is unsure.
That�s the way it should be.�
!! William Sloane Coffin !!

))))))000000((((((

I can�t remember how old I was or what my first word was. I would assume it was �no,� �dada� or �mama.� Or maybe, it might I have been �doggie.� Nothing comes to mind. I�ll have to call my Great Aunt and hear what she remembers.

But for books, I know my Great Aunt on my mother�s side of the family, would read to me the classics:

Emily Bronte � �Wuthering Heights�
Louisa May Alcott � �Little Women�
Robert Louise Stephenson � �Treasure Island�
Walter Farley � �Black Stallion�
Henry David Thoreau � �Walden�
Johanna Spyri � �Heidi�
Margaret Mitchell � �Gone With the Wind�
Thor Heyerdahl � �Kon-Tikik�
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle � �The Valley of the Fear�
A.A. Milne � The House at Pooh Corner�
Mark Twain � �The Adventures of Tom Sawyer�
Abrahram Lincoln � �An Autobiography�

Of course, first grade brought Dick, Jane and Spot. I don�t know anyone who didn�t ready about these three characters.

All these books had words that broaden my imagination, taking me to new lands and the meeting of new people. From the beginning, I kept reading and my life has expanded.

mz. em

))))))000000((((((

Wednesday Whatevers

1. Should historical sites charge a fee to visit, and why? I feel that should charge a reasonable one so that everyone can see the site. With the money collected used to keep the site in order.

2. What is the most pointless law you have heard of? The helmet law.

3. What is the most surefire way of catching someone's attention? Drop your drawers.

))))))000000((((((

What I�m Reading:

�Chronicles of Narnia� by C. S. Lewis
�How to Keep a Sketchbook� by Michael Woods
�Valley of Bones� by Michael Gruber
�At a Journal Workshop� by Ira Progoff, Ph.D
�The Dragon Reborn� by Robert Jordan; Book Three of The Wheel of Time

++++++

Since I am a Barnes & Noble affiliate, any books you purchase through the link here gives me credit. So, if you feel so moved I would be appreciative.


Barnes& Noble.com

~~~~~~

7:33 p.m. - Wednesday, May. 11, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com