Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spike�s Big Adventure

�Herman Melville writes to Nathaniel Hawthorne in 1851:
"Dollars damn me; and the malicious Devil is forever
grinning in upon me, holding the door ajar. . . . I shall be
worn out and perish, like an old nutmeg grater, grated to
pieces by the constant attrition of the wood, that is, the
nutmeg. What I feel most moved to write, that is banned �
it will not pay. Yet, altogether, write the other way I cannot.
So the product is a final hash, and all my books are botches."
!! Frederick Busch, quoted in A DANGEROUS
PROFESSION, p. 102 !!

))))))000000((((((

Yes, my darling fur child had an adventure. Michael headed out the opened garage to leave and we did. Never looking back to check to be sure the garage door was done. Imagine our surprise when we arrived home to find the garage door up. Gak!

Our first thoughts were of the motorcycles, computers, and other things and last but not least, where is Spike. I searched the house and he was no where to be found. A reconnoiter around the outside of house did not turn that curmudgeonly cat up.

Michael had me call our next door neighbors to see if he was in their yard when Spike had been an outdoor cat. They too a gander and sure enough, Spike was in their yard hunkering down in their bushes. With that many people looking for him, he came up through the bushes and I thought he was heading for the open front door.

No, he was going into the house but down the side of the house. I chose to block him at the pass, I ran through the house and made it to the back door the same time Spike came around the corner. I advised him to come in the house or else.

Lucky for me, he did. We immediately gave him a flea treatment, a good brushing and then some dinner.

I personally feel Spike had a good time visiting the neighborhood, getting re-acquainted with the cats which I believe to be Lil Bit and meet the three new kitties. Who knows what he ate or who he met out.

I just hope Spike had a darn good time.

))))))000000((((((




mz. em and Ruby A


))))))000000((((((

What I�m Reading As A Member of 100 Books of 2005:


Be sure to check out my list of books and magazines on this page: 2005 Books

This is what I�m reading now:

�Chronicles of Narnia� by C. S. Lewis
�How to Keep a Sketchbook� by Michael Woods
�Valley of Bones� by Michael Gruber
�At a Journal Workshop� by Ira Progoff, Ph.D
�The Dragon Reborn� by Robert Jordan; Book Three of The Wheel of Time

++++++

Since I am a Barnes & Noble affiliate, any books you purchase through the link here gives me credit. So, if you feel so moved I would be appreciative.


Barnes& Noble.com

~~~~~~

4:08 p.m. - Monday, Jun. 06, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com