Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Have faith and stay true

Thursday - September 19, 2002

Waxing moon in Pisces

14th day of lunar cycle

I was worried about the book's ending while I was writing, but I told myself to have faith, and that if I stayed true to the characters, the story would finish itself.

--Elizabeth Strout

Have faith and stay true

Today's quote speaks to me in more than just writing. On any given day, I worry about the day's ending. I worry about saying the right thing, doing the right thing and feeling the right thing. And, do I stay true to "my" character? Not always.

What would happen if we treated our lives and ourselves as though we were a book being written? When my ending comes I would want it to read that I had some adventures, I experienced life and I was myself through all of it.

Now that would be a good book.

Today's excitement came from watching a cat do what cat's do - mousing. This cat caught three mice. One devoured, one partially devoured and one in the waiting. Such gymnastics the cat went through with the last. He/she may have done it with the other two but with an audience all agog - some agast (those who eat no meat) and those of us cheering the cat on (three less mice to enter our building). Personally, I feel we need a cat with the frequency of mice seen indoors. I even found mice droppings under my desk, not that mice bother me, I'd rather not have the left overs you know.

The next excitement comes from my computer hard drive not giving up my CD. The error message tells me that some fields of the CD are in use and therefore cannot be discharged. Oh great. It's interesting because the CD isn't even playing, so what's in use?

Went to lunch today with a friend. We decided to head for the beach. Good choice except the fog was in. Remember the entry about pea soup? Well, other than hearing the waves that was the only way of knowing we were near the ocean. Lunch was good and the company lively. A nice way to spend a lunch hour.

Kind of a slow day today so I'll close now.

Till tomorrow...

3:47 p.m. - 2002-09-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com