Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Favorite Memories

"A great attitude does much more than turn on the lights in our worlds; it seems to magically connect us to all sorts of serendipitous opportunities that were somehow absent before we changed."

-- Earl Nightingale, 1921-1989, Philosopher and Syndicated Radio

Personality

Favorite Memories

As the daylight dwindles down, I find myself reflecting on things that have been good in my life.

One of my memories was my first ride up Highway One to Big Sur. . . on a week day. Yes, I took a Wednesday off, rousted Michael out of bed (we had only been dating at this time) and we hit the road. I felt that riding that road during the week there would be less traffic, I could go a speed I was comfortable with and we would stop and have lunch and then return home.

Need I say it was a fabulous day? Prior to leaving, Michael talked to me about road hazards: sand in the road, all the curves and cars and buses that drive over the center line in those curves and tourists that suddenly stop in front of you, make left or right turns without signaling or pull out in front of you. I can tell you now that all of things did happen.

We had lunch at the River�s Inn. It had outside seating overlooking the river. I was in heaven: I was riding my motorcycle and with the most handsome man in the county could life be any better?

After lunch we headed back I road much faster than going up. Fast enough that I surprised Michael a couple of times. Somewhere in one of my journals I still have the lunch receipt from that day.

Second memory(ies) is actually a combination of several and that is me and Michael working in the garage on our motorcycles. Sometimes the work is on one bike or the other or we were each doing something to our own. With the radio on we would stop and dance when a favorite song came on. I do believe the garage is our favorite room in the house.

The last one I�m going to write about is when Michael and I rode to Sturgis, South Dakota. Michael had ridden out the year before so he knew what to expect but I had only ridden around the county would I be up to a trip of this distance. We planned, we packed and we headed out. Ruby felt so much different fully packed. The first day was my absolute worst. I worried whether or not I could make this trip but what I didn�t know was before we had even left the state I was coming down with a heat stroke. As we were riding into King City, Michael realized I was red in the face and needed to get me into the shade. Without letting me know what was going on, we gassed up the bikes and then rode across the street to a restaurant to have something to eat. It was when I got off my bike I realized I wasn�t feeling so well. Michael had me go to the ladies room to put cold water on my face and the back of my neck. When I came to the table Michael had a pitcher of water waiting for me. We hung out until till the temperature lowered and I felt better, then once again we were on the road. During this time, Willie Nelson�s song �On the Road Again� was going through my head. By the second day, I was beginning to get my stride and having some fun. The sites we saw, the landscape, the people we met life could not get any better than this. We arrived at our relatives� home in three days. By this time, I could have kept going but we had arrived and I was attending the granddaddy of motorcycle rallies with my sweetie and I had ridden my motorcycle from California to South Dakota.

I have other memories that are good ones but these stand out in my mind and make me smile. I�m one lucky woman to have the man of my dreams and a motorcycle I had only dreamed about.

mz. em

7:47 p.m. - Monday, Oct. 06, 2003
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com