Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tragedy Has Struck Again

I started to discover I was being more honest when I was inventing, more truthful when dreaming.

-- Michael Ondaatje

Tragedy Has Struck Again

It�s hard to believe, the United States and the world as a whole, has lost seven courageous people, again. I first heard the news that something had happened to the space shuttle Columbia at the Weight Watchers meeting but it didn�t register.

Later, when talking to my sister she mentioned it again. I said something to Michael and he turned the television on and both of us were in shock. How could something like this happen? I know there will be a lot of research and soul searching on the part of the rescue team.

My prayers go out to the families, friends and co-workers of the astronauts this day. Tis a sad, sad day.

***************************************

Yes, I made it to the WW meeting, barely. I have to say I had slept the best I had all week. I really hated to get up but with the fact I was on a seefood diet (see food and eat it), I did not know what to expect when stepping on the scales. My worries were needless; I gained back 0.2 pound. This could be something I had on or a piece of dirt on my shoe. I still skipped a lighter step that though I was much depressed all week I still held steady.

Back home, I found Michael up, well at least on the futon. He wasn�t feeling too well and it seemed the best for him to stay wrapped up. I made him take some Echinacea and goldenseal tables and gave him fresh lemonade, which he didn�t appreciate much. He doesn�t like the sour stuff like I do. However, I berated him into drinking all of it for a megadose of vitamin

C. I added the lemon juice to my usual honey and apple-cider vinegar and took the E&G as well. I still have a cough and I don�t need to get worse.

Once settled in, Michael treated me to a chick-flick: �The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood.� I didn�t like the book much but the movie was fun and I would like to own a copy of the DVD though. Yes, Michael this is a hint. Ellen Burstyn and Maggie Smith have always been favorites of mine.

That done, I received a call from a writing buddy and we met later in the afternoon for something to drink and go over our writing. I�ve decided to make my NaNoWriMo novel into a short story. Both FY and I thought it might go better and I COULD finish it. The hard part: I have to type it up. I thought I might get to it this weekend but it hasn�t happened.

Michael feeling better went off to pick up his new jacket, my parts manual (which I just love) and to visit some friends; me, I went and finished up errands around town when FY and I were done with our stuff.

A quiet night, dinner, fire, moves: Eight-legged Freaks and Jason X. Michael didn�t say much about them but they weren�t as scary as I thought they would be. The movies were more hokey than anything.

6:08 p.m. - Saturday, Feb. 01, 2003
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com