Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lost, Found and Followed

You can tear a poem apart to see what makes it tick... The best craftsmanship always leaves holes and gaps... so that something that is not in the poem can creep, crawl, flash or thunder in.

-- Dylan Thomas

Lost, Found and Followed

What I thought I had lost was one of my favorite fountain pens. Michael gifted me this one sometime back. It�s a Waterman Harley-Davidson pen, black with flames and the best besides being an H-D pen is the nib is a fine point. With the paper I�m writing on now the nib just glides over the paper like newly sharpened ice skates on a frozen pond.

I went through my bag and couldn�t find the pen in the usual spots that I put my writing implements. All I could think of is I had left it at work. Ugh. A cool pen like that could be an item someone else would like as well. Things have been known to disappear around our workplace so who knows.

I got another fountain pen from my stash and wrote the night away, deciding I would stop by work on my way back from Weight Watchers. I did stop and my pen wasn�t there. Another ugh uttered by me. Someone had either grabbed it or I needed to go through my bag again. Once home, I dumped stuff out and low and behold (yes, I know that is a clich�) there was my pen. Now I�m a happy girl.

))))))OOOOOO(((((((

My following adventure this morning occurred while I was driving to the Weight Watchers� meeting. Mind you it�s about 6:40 a.m. and I�m going past auto row where people park cars they want to sell. At the end of this row sits a sheriff�s car with its headlights on. Once I pass, the lights go out and the car comes in behind me.

Don�t you just love this? Luckily because I had slowed down to see what cars were for sale I was under the speed limit. Anyway, the patrol car keeps up with me for a ways then drops back. Next thing I know, the patrol car speeds up to me but no lights come on. We go like this for a ways and then the patrol car pulls back two or three car lengths.

I open my window, turn on the heat and turn up the radio and attempt to ignore the sheriff. Before I know it, here comes the car again and paces me. When I get to the passing lane I assumed he would pass me. Mind you it�s still fairly early and there is very little traffic. The sheriff doesn�t pass me and has pulled back from me.

Since the spotlight has been on the sheriff�s department lately in the press, I was concerned as to what this guy is doing. When I came into town, the car pulled over and stopped and put his headlights back on. After two or more cars passed him, he did a U-turn and headed back the way he came. It was a relief to have him gone I can assure you.

Once home, I told Michael about what had happened and he suggested I call the watch commander to find out what was going on. I hedged some but then considering all the hassle we received when riding the bikes, this was no different and I called the watch commander. I explained the situation and was assured the officer in question was a very professional officer and what seemed abnormal to us citizens was routine for the officers. I was also told not to believe everything I read in the paper too. I replied that it was true in some circumstances but in my experience the sheriffs in this county had not instilled much confidence in their abilities. We then hung up.

While I was on the phone, Michael was searching the web for the sheriffs� web site and found it. I being the concerned citizen that I am e-mailed the head sheriff and reiterated what had happened and my conversation with the watch commander and I would like a response as to the actions of this officer. So I�m awaiting a response. Who knows, the next time I�m out I�ll either be stopped or I�ll be left alone. One thing I�ve learned in riding the motorcycle and dealing with law enforcement, we have to stand up for our rights and let the officers know we aren�t going to go for inappropriate behavior on their part.

))))))OOOOOO(((((((

Ever read �Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance?� It�s a great book. I read long before I owned mine. Well Michael and I practiced the art with some work on Ruby. He was able to replace the part on Ruby that needed replacing and while he was doing other things to her, I cleaned my carburetor. Eleven years worth of grunge gone in a few minutes, well a little longer than that but I was in heaven. One of the things I�m good at is detail work. It would have been better if I had a solvent bath to get into the little nooks and crannies but I�m satisfied with my job. Tomorrow, we will get the carburetor back on and the hoses and wires attached. Who knows, maybe a ride tomorrow or more maintenance.

))))))OOOOOO(((((((

Saturday Slant

Where was the most inopportune place you've fallen asleep?

Don't have an answer? Then how about the most inopportune time you've fallen asleep or nodded off?

I remember when dating this one guy back in the late �70s, when we would go out and I was uncomfortable with him, I would fall asleep. It didn�t matter where we were, I would fall asleep. He was not appreciative of this but I couldn�t help it and luckily we broke up.

Hmm, as to the second part of this question, I can think of an inopportune time but I�m not going to write about it here.

))))))OOOOOO(((((((

Well, there you have my Saturday. I�m ready for a nap now only supper is heading my weigh. I know I�ll be ready for a nap then. Have a great evening!

Mz. em

5:42 p.m. - Saturday, Sept. 27, 2003
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com