Words of Mine

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vacation Is Over

I find that it is not the circumstances in which we are placed, but the spirit in which we face them, that constitutes our comfort.

-=- Elizabeth T. King

Vacation Is Over

Where did the time go? I can�t believe I had to get up at 5 a.m. to begin my day. I hate getting up in the dark. I did get up though I didn�t want to and get my meditation and exercise in. I�m finding that though I get home late, my days go better when I do these two things.

The weather is cool and gray. The sun doesn�t come out until later in the day. I even get my walk in at work and this is a good thing.

I�m calmer than I thought I would be not knowing what I would come back to. My desk is fairly organized and there are no notes for me. With no notes, I�m not sure where to start so I begin working on filing and going through my e-mail and getting that printed out and determine what has been entered into the calendar and what has not.

I�m always amazed at how much work I get done as I�m three-quarters through my calendars by day�s end. How can this be? In some ways it�s like I never left but everyone tells me I look relaxed. I wonder how long that will last.

))))))000000((((((

Monday Madness

1. Bed & Breakfast or hotel? I�ve never stayed in a bed and breakfast so I�m not sure what that would be like. I�ve always stayed in hotels or motels and I like having a maid come in to make the bed and clean the room.

2. What determines where you stay?(i.e. price, accommodations, transportation, travel package) Money for one thing but it has to be clean and in a good part of town. Although, we have stayed in some places were the bugs outnumbered us.

3. When determining where to stay, do you ever consider the establishment's history? (i.e. it might be haunted, location of high profile crime) I�ve seen those shows on television about haunted inns; I don�t know that I could stay there as I do believe in ghosts. I wouldn�t want to stay in a place that had a high profile crime occur as in a shooting. Bad vibes if you ask me. Not good for sleeping.

4. Would such considerations sway your decision? Most definitely.

5. Do you try and read the local paper for where you're visiting, to get an idea of what the area's like? Yes. It�s fun to see what other areas consider for news.

))))))000000((((((

The Bag � Chapter One

Riding the train every day into the city for work could be boring. Only some mornings I sleep, read the paper, magazine, a book or I people watch.

Like this morning there is a young woman sitting across from me. I see off and on in the mornings. She looks to be 25-30, curly dark blonde hair and blue eyes. I wonder if she wears colored contacts because her eyes are really blue. It may be how she does her make up but her eyes are quite stunning. She generally wears a camel-hair double breasted long coat with a camel-colored beret and black heels. I don't believe I�ve seen her in much else.

She always gets off at the Penn Central Station exit. Like this morning, only I realize she has left a bag behind. I look at the bag, wondering what to do. I glance out the window to see if she is visible. I get up and go to the door, leaning out, while holding the door, to see if I see her. I don�t. I would have thought by now she would have realized she was missing a bag.

The conductor calls, �all aboard.� In seconds I feel the train move and in seconds we are up to speed. I look at the bag and wonder what to do. Do I give the bag to the conductor and let him handle the return to the young woman, or, do I snoop through her belongings to see if I find ownership information and return the bag myself?

Tune in tomorrow and find out what happens.

~~~~~~

mz. em

7:23 p.m. - Monday, Jun. 28, 2004
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crow Cottage, Actually
Golf Widow's Ministry of Silly Walks
L-Empress

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com